59th Annual Grammy Awards Review

Just last week on Sunday, February 12th, was the 59th Annual Grammy Awards and it was definitely one to remember! The Grammy Awards are one of my favorite award shows .. it truly is music’s biggest night! There were so many great moments. I want to point out some of my favorite performances of the night:

The Weeknd ft. Daft Punk – Starboy/I Feel It Coming Medley

I love the galactic feel to this performance. Even though it was only a quick couple seconds of “Starboy”, it still set the mood of the performance. It was a smooth transition to “I Feel It Coming”. Both are undeniably two of The Weeknd’s biggest hits. “I Feel It Coming” is one of my favorite songs. It’s so reminiscent of Michael Jackson.. the vibe, his voice, everything about it.. I love it!

Keith Urban ft. Carrie Underwood – The Fighter

I was definitely feeling this performance! “The Fighter” is such a tune!!! It’s got a Country Pop feel. Carrie Underwood is just a natural talent.. has a beautiful voice. Their voices go perfectly together. It was a simple performance but I enjoyed it nonetheless! Check this song out if you haven’t already.

Ed Sheeran – Shape of You


Ok, this was one of the performances I could NOT wait for! Ed Sheeran released this single just last month along with “Castle on the Hill” in support of his latest album ” ÷” releasing on March 3rd. There’s no denying that Ed Sheeran has pure talent. He was a one man band.. this performance is a must see! Shape of You” is one of the best songs so far this year..

Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – Chained to the Rhythm


Can I say first how great Katy Perry looks in blonde hair?! She released this single just 2 days before the Grammys. It’s definitely a hit! Her performance was fun, the set was pretty cool.. some of it was kind of trippy! This performance definitely got the audience moving.

Bruno Mars – That’s What I Like


I mean save the best for last right? Obviously Bruno Mars’ performance of “That’s What I Like” was my FAVORITE. Also want to point out the Hooligans too who were on fire, like always. I mean.. there’s really nothing to say. Bruno is the best in the industry.. no questions asked.

Bruno and the Hooligans also got take part in a special tribute to the one and only Prince with a performance of “Let’s Go Crazy” with a full out Prince inspired costume with white ruffles, a white guitar and even had eyeliner on. This is definitely how a tribute should be done!!! Bruno and the Hooligans nailed it. Just before Bruno took the stage for the Prince tribute, The Time and Morris Day kicked it off with “Jungle Love” and “The Bird“.

A couple more performance I want to note is Beyonce’s performance of “Love Drought” and “Sandcastles” from her Lemonade album. The visual elements of this performance were breathtaking and beautiful. Adele’s rendition of George Michael’s “Fastlove” was beautiful. There were clips of George Michael playing on the screen behind her. It accompanied the performance so well and captured the emotion of what she was singing. George Michael is sorely missed.

That was my thoughts on the Grammy performances this year, let me know what you agree on or disagree on. I want to hear your thoughts! For more on the Grammys, be sure to grammy.com!

Leave a Reply

