Disneyland Paris: “Mickey and the Magician”

I just now got around to watching “Mickey and the Magician”, the new show at Disneyland Paris. It debuted on July 2nd. In the show, Mickey is an assistant to a magician. The show opens up with Tinker Bell flying across the magician’s room, then eventually Mickey appears. Characters you’ll see in the show are Cinderella, The Fairy Godmother, Belle and the Beast, the Genie from Aladdin, Olaf, Elsa and more. Check out this video below by ToonStudiosProd.


Here’s some things I’d like to point out on the show: I really enjoyed the Genie performing and dancing with Mickey to “Friend Like Me”! I loved all the magic tricks he did, especially the illusion of the box floating. The dance number with all of the dancers was great. The Fairy Godmother performing “Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo” was also great. I thought it was cool how she had the dress appear right before your eyes on the mannequin and then the butterflies carry the sheet over it and had Cinderella appear, thought that was a cool entrance. I absolutely loved Beauty and the Beast dancing to “Tale As Old As Time”. That is one of the BEST classic Disney songs ever! I’m fascinated at how the screen was put together in the background. The screen is a rotating background of glass windows as if they’re dancing in the ballroom just like the movie. Pretty cool. And of course, it’s not a show without Frozen. Olaf and Elsa appear with Mickey. One thing you have to know about me is that I LOVE the music to Frozen. “In Summer” plays in the background as Olaf is talking and when Elsa comes in the “Winter’s Waltz” music plays. “Winter’s Waltz” is one of my favorites, it’s so beautiful! Elsa sings “Let It Go” as usual. Her dress transformation was impressive.

There you have my highlights from the show. I think it’s a very well put together show. The music choices were great, they stuck to the classic Disney songs. The stage set up and use of props were awesome. It felt like watching a classic Disney show or something like Broadway. Oh and I am now obsessed with the show’s theme “Let the Magic Shine”!!!

Leave a Reply

